Advanced Placement: State scholarship criteria include AP scores

Advanced Placement: State scholarship criteria include AP scores

Embedding AP exam scores in merit-based state scholarship eligibility criteria  may signal to students that success on AP exams demonstrates ability to succeed in college-level coursework. This data point indicates states that require students to achieve minimum scores on one or more AP exams or another college-ready measure to be eligible for merit-based state scholarships.

  • Six states include AP exam scores as a potential eligibility requirement for state merit-based scholarships.
  • One state, Georgia, does not require minimum scores on AP exams, but does require students to complete a minimum number of AP courses or other advanced coursework to be eligible for a HOPE scholarship.
This information was collected from statutes, state board regulations and state agency Web sites and was fully updated in 2016. Please contact Jennifer Dounay Zinth at 303.299.3689 or with questions regarding state policies on this issue.

State scholarship criteria include AP scores
Alabama No
Alaska No
Arizona Yes. The Arizona Board of Regent’s High Honors Tuition Scholarship is a 25% in-state university base tuition scholarship valid at state universities. Eligible students must meet three sets of criteria:
  • Complete all 16 Core Competency Courses by graduation with a B or better in each unit of credit awarded OR receive an acceptable score on the AP exam or a 4 on the IB exam for that subject area.
  • Unweighted GPA of 3.50 in all 16 core competency courses, or equivalent on 5.0 scale for districts weighting AP/IB/honors courses OR top 5% in high school graduating class
  • Minimum 28 composite score on ACT OR 1300 on the SAT1 test (critical reading & math only – excluding writing and essay).
Arkansas No
California No
Colorado No
Connecticut No
Delaware No
District of Columbia No
Florida No
Georgia Not for AP exam scores. However, to be eligible to receive a HOPE scholarship, a student must receive credit in at least 3 courses prior to graduating from high school from any of 6 categories of advanced coursework, including AP courses in core subjects. Effective for students in the Class of 2017, this requirement increases to credit in at least 4 advanced courses, including AP courses in core subjects.
Hawaii No
Idaho No
Illinois No
Indiana No
Iowa No
Kansas No
Kentucky Yes, for supplement to the Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES). The Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA) is directed to provide a supplemental award for achievement on AP exams for an eligible high school student whose family was eligible for free or reduced-price lunch for any year during high school enrollment. The supplemental award for AP exam scores are:
  • $200 for each score of 3
  • $250 for each score of 4
  • $300 for each score of 5.
In addition, high schools are required to annually report to KHEEA by June 30 a compiled list of all high school students during the academic year, including family eligibility status for free or reduced-price lunch, and each AP exam score. Based on these and other reported data, KHEEA must notify each 12th grader of his/her final Kentucky educational excellence scholarship and supplemental award, including based on AP exam scores.
Louisiana No
Maine No
Maryland No
Massachusetts Yes. A candidate for the Certificate of Mastery with Distinction must attain minimum scores on one of the following sets of assessments:
(a) Two SAT II exams
(b) Two AP exams
(c) One SAT II exam and one AP exam
(d) One SAT II exam and one Other Achievement
(e) One AP exam and one Other Achievement.

Students must earn at least a 3 on an AP exam or a score on an SAT II exam determined by the Department to be comparable to a score of three on an AP exam where SAT II and AP exams exist in the same subject area. Students earning a Certificate of Mastery with Distinction receive a tuition waiver to state postsecondary institutions for up to 8 semesters, provided students maintain a minimum 3.3 GPA.
Michigan No
Minnesota No
Mississippi No
Missouri No
Montana No
Nebraska No
Nevada No
New Hampshire No
New Jersey No
New Mexico No
New York Yes. To be eligible for a New York state achievement and investment in merit scholarship (NY-AIMS), a student must have graduated from a New York state high school, enrolled in an approved undergraduate program of study in a New York state postsecondary institution beginning in the 2015-2016 academic year or thereafter, and achieved at least two of the following during high school:
  • Graduated with a ≥ 3.3 grade point average
  • Graduated with a “with honors” distinction on a New York state regents diploma or received a score of ≥ 3 on 2 or more AP exams
  • Graduated within the top 15% of their high school class, provided that actual class rank may be taken into consideration.
North Carolina No
North Dakota Yes. To be eligible for a North Dakota Academic Scholarship, a student must fulfill one of the required units of academic credit by either an AP course and exam, or dual credit, or non-remedial course via an early entrance program.
Ohio No
Oklahoma No
Oregon No
Pennsylvania No
Rhode Island No
South Carolina No
South Dakota No
Tennessee No
Texas Yes. To receive an initial TEXAS (Towards EXcellence, Access, and Success) grant, a student who is a first-time undergraduate must be a graduate of a public or accredited private high school in Texas who completed the foundation high school program or its equivalent and have met any two or more of the following academic eligibility requirements:
  • Earning of the equivalent of at least 12 semester credit hours of college credit in high school via AP, IB, dual credit, or postsecondary articulated coursework, or successful completion of the course requirements of the IB diploma program
  • Satisfaction of the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) college readiness benchmarks prescribed by the coordinating board on any assessment instrument designated by the coordinating board, or qualification for an exemption
  • Graduation in the top one-third of the person's high school graduating class or graduation from high school with a grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4-point scale or the equivalent
  • Completion for high school credit of at least one advanced math course following the successful completion of an Algebra II course or at least one advanced career and technical or technology applications course.
Utah No
Vermont No
Virginia No
Washington No
West Virginia No
Wisconsin No
Wyoming No

© 2021 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education. 700 Broadway #810, Denver, CO 80203-3442

To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please contact the Education Commission of the States’ Communications Department at 303.299.3636 or

Your Education Policy Team