|Advanced Placement 2016|
|All high schools/districts required to offer AP||Yes. All districts must offer at least one AP course in English, math, science and social studies. Distance learning or the Mississippi Virtual Public School may be used as an appropriate alternative for the delivery of AP courses.. Any public high school offering the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme is exempt from the requirement to offer AP courses.|
|State financial support for AP course offerings/AP success||No|
|AP participation/success included in high school accountability metrics/reporting||Yes, for accountability and reporting. Accountability: Beginning in the 2015-16 school year, high schools will have an Acceleration component in their calculations. The Acceleration component refers to the percentage of students taking and passing the assessment associated with the accelerated courses such as AP, IB, Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE), or state board-approved industry certification courses. For AP courses, the student must score 3 on the AP exam.|
The Acceleration component will consist of a Participation and a Performance component. These 2 components will be combined for one score worth 50 points and phased in on the following sliding scale:
• 2 courses: 1.1
• 3 courses: 1.2
• 4 courses: 1.3
• 5 courses: 1.4
Reporting: Under the Children First Act, districts must report the number of students enrolled in AP courses.
|State programs and funding for teacher training||Yes. Each teacher planning to teach an AP course must have completed the College Board endorsed AP Summer Institute (APSI) for the course and must have obtained the AP certification through the Mississippi Department of Education's Office of Educator Licensure. Documentation showing completion of the College Board APSI is required. Teachers with the AP certification must comply with licensure renewal guidelines. AP teachers must complete the AP Summer Institute (APSI) at least every 5 years, which can be used for licensure renewal if completed during the validity period. An exception is provided to teachers who have served with Educational Testing Service as readers for the AP exam(s). Such teachers may have the initial training waived and automatically earn the AP certification if the appropriate documentation is provided. These teachers should complete the APSI at least every 5 years or serve as a reader for the AP exam(s) at least every 5 years.|
AP endorsements are added by completion of College Board approved AP training. Endorsements can only be added as a supplemental endorsement to a standard 5-year license. This endorsement must be renewed every 5 years with additional AP training, and cannot be renewed with CEUs or coursework.
In addition, proposals to offer a pre-AP course must be submitted to the department of education before the course may be offered. The proposal must indicate the College Board training the Pre-AP teachers will obtain in order to teach the Pre-AP courses. Each teacher planning to teach a Pre-AP course must have completed the College Board's Pre-AP Summer Institute, Vertical Teams Training, the Pre-AP Workshop, or other training specifically designed for Pre-AP teachers. The district is responsible for providing documentation (when requested) of participation in the Pre-AP training.
|State subsidies for testing fees||No. Students who qualify for a fee reduction will pay $15 in spring 2016.|
|State scholarship criteria include AP scores||No|
|Collaboration on AP between K-12 and higher education systems||No|
|State support for encouraging access to AP||Yes. Districts must offer pre-AP courses to prepare students for AP coursework. A district must submit a Pre-Advanced Placement Program Proposal to the department of education's Office of Curriculum and Instruction. The proposal must indicate the Pre-AP courses that will be offered and the College Board training that the Pre-AP teachers will obtain in order to teach the courses. The proposal must also indicate the process for identifying students for Pre-AP courses. Each teacher planning to teach a Pre-AP course must have completed the College Board's Pre-AP Summer Institute, Vertical Teams Training, the Pre-AP Workshop, or other training specifically designed for Pre-AP teachers. The district is responsible for providing documentation (when requested) of participation in the Pre-AP training. The Pre-AP Program Proposal will be approved for a 5-year period. Whenever a district makes changes to the Pre-AP Program, the district must submit a new Pre-AP Program Proposal Form to the department of education for approval prior to implementing changes.|
The Mississippi Virtual Public School (MVPS), administered by the Mississippi Department of Education, offers AP courses. However, according to the department of education website, a student is limited to 2 Carnegie units per school year. Participation in this program is determined by each district.
2016 S.B. 2064 establishes the “Distance Learning Collaborative Act of 2016.” Under the act, the department of education must establish a voluntary distance learning grant program that is a collaboration among the entities providing distance learning services. The Distance Learning Collaborative Program must provide financial assistance to encourage and improve distance learning education services in rural areas through the use of telecommunications, computer networks and related advanced technologies to be used by students, teachers and rural residents. Distance Learning Collaborative Program courses must be fully eligible for dual credit. AP is a form of dual credit in Mississippi.
Regulation provides that, subject to appropriation, funding must be made available so that all public school 10th graders may take an exam [Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test (PSAT) or ACT PLAN Assessment] that measures the students' ability to succeed in an AP course. The examination results should be used to identify students who were not recognized during middle school as students who would benefit from taking AP courses.
|State postsecondary institutions must award credit for minimum scores||No|
|Student must take AP exam to receive course credit||No. However, because pass rates are an accountability metric for high schools beginning in the 2015-16 academic year, schools are encouraging students in AP courses to take the AP exam.|
|Unique characteristics||Parents may use funds deposited in a participating student's Educational Savings Account (ESA) for any of a number of qualifying expenses to educate the student, including AP exam fees.|
The Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review (PEER) must prepare a biannual report, beginning in 2018 and every 2 years thereafter, assessing the sufficiency of funding for Education Scholarship Accounts and recommending any suggested changes in state law or policy necessary to improve the program. One of the elements the report must assess is student performance on AP exams.